01/12/2023 - Permalink

Over 100 schools receive free salt spreader for treating icy pavements

Related topics: Children's services / Highways, transport and environmental maintenance
Spready Mercury, the Castlefields Primary salt spreader - with Hugo who picked the winning name

Spready Mercury, the Castlefields Primary salt spreader – with Hugo who picked the winning name

More than 100 Shropshire schools and colleges have now taken up Shropshire Council’s offer of a free pedestrian salt spreader and salt, to treat icy pavements near their school during spells of wintry weather.

The first to take up the invitation was Castlefields Primary in Bridgnorth, who have been using their spreader (named Spready Mercury following a school competition) since last year.

Since the start of 2023 a further 100 schools and colleges have requested a spreader and salt – see full list below.

Each school has received a spreader, and will also get one tonne of salt.

Kirstie Hurst-Knight, Shropshire Council’s Cabinet member for children and education, said:

“Working with schools in this way helps to ensure that the approaches to each school are treated during spells of icy weather, and to help children stay safe on their way to and from school.

“We’re delighted that so many schools have now taken up the offer of a free spreader and salt.”

Dan Morris, Shropshire Council’s Cabinet member for highways, said:

“With thousands of miles of roads and pavements in the county, it’s just not possible for us to treat all roads and pavements in the county – though we will treat pavements near schools during prolonged spells of sub-zero temperatures.

“Providing schools with salt and a spreader means that they can treat pavements at all other times, when temperatures drop and pavements may be icy.”

Any schools who would like to request a spreader or find out more can email Highwaysconsultation@shropshire.gov.uk.

The schools and colleges that have requested and received a salt spreader are:

    • Castlefields Primary, Bridgnorth
    • St Giles’ CE Primary, Shrewsbury
    • Market Drayton Junior
    • Onny CE Primary, Craven Arms
    • Sheriffhales Primary
    • St George’s Junior, Shrewsbury
    • Woodfield Infants, Shrewsbury
    • St Leonard’s CE Primary, Bridgnorth
    • West Felton CofE Primary School
    • Lacon Childe School, Cleobury Mortimer
    • Cleobury Mortimer Primary
    • Baschurch C E Primary School
    • St Thomas & St Anne’s Primary, Hanwood
    • Bishop Hooper CE Primary, Ludlow
    • Bitterley CE Primary
    • Corvedale CE Primary, Diddlebury
    • Clunbury CE Primary
    • The Grange Primary
    • The Keystone Academy
    • St Laurence CE Primary, Ludlow
    • Church Preen Primary School
    • St Marys C of E Primary & Nursery, Shawbury
    • Myddle Primary School
    • The Wilfred Owen School, Shrewsbury
    • Shrewsbury Academy
    • The Gables Learning Centre, Albrighton
    • Clee Hill Community Academy
    • Greenacres Primary School, Shrewsbury
    • Stokesay Primary School, Craven Arms
    • Market Drayton Infant & Nursery
    • The Meadows Primary, Oswestry
    • St George’s CE Academy, Craven Arms
    • Highley Community Primary
    • Brown Clee Primary, Ditton Priors
    • Long Mountain CE Primary School, Worthen
    • Criftins C of E Primary, nr Ellesmere
    • Cockshutt CE Primary
    • Newtown C of E Primary, Wem
    • Welshampton Primary
    • Bicton CE Primary School and Nursery
    • St Edward’s CE Primary, Dorrington
    • Wistanstow CE Primary School, Craven Arms
    • Trinity CE Primary School, Ford
    • Stottesdon CofE Primary
    • Alveley Primary
    • Morda CE Primary
    • Oxen CE Primary
    • Gobowen Primary
    • Christ Church C of E Primary, Cressage
    • Barrow 1618 C of E Free School
    • The Thomas Adams School, Wem
    • Belvidere Primary School, Shrewsbury
    • Longden CE Primary School and Nursery
    • St Andrews Primary, Shifnal
    • Shrewsbury Cathedral Catholic Primary
    • Ellesmere Primary
    • Minsterley Primary
    • Whitchurch CE Infant & Nursery Academy
    • Harlescott Junior School, Sundorne Infant School and Nursery
    • Hadnall C of E Primary School
    • Albrighton Primary School
    • Mereside C of E Primary Academy, Shrewsbury
    • Belvidere School, Shrewsbury
    • Weston Rhyn Primary
    • Condover CE Primary
    • Woore Primary and Nursery
    • Longlands Primary School, Market Drayton
    • Claverley CE Primary
    • The Fitzroy Academy, Shrewsbury
    • Tilstock CE Primary
    • St Mary’s Bluecoat CE Primary, Bridgnorth
    • Worfield Endowed CE Primary
    • Beckbury CE Primary
    • Pontesbury CE Primary
    • Bishops Castle Primary
    • Crowmoor Primary, Shrewsbury
    • Woodside Primary, Oswestry
    • Newcastle CE Primary, Craven Arms
    • Mount Pleasant Primary, Shrewsbury
    • Whittington CE (VA) Primary
    • Coleham Primary, Shrewsbury
    • Lower Heath CE Primary, Prees
    • John Wilkinson Primary and Nursery, Broseley
    • Kinlet CofE Primary School
    • Farlow CofE Primary School
    • St Marys Primary, Shawbury
    • Shrewsbury College Group, Welsh Bridge Campus
    • Shrewsbury Colleges Group, English Bridge Campus
    • Shrewsbury Colleges Group, London Road Campus
    • Morville CE Primary
    • Kinnerley CE Primary
    • Meole Brace, Shrewsbury
    • Burford Primary
    • Weston Lullingfields Primary
    • St John’s RC Primary, Bridgnorth
    • Norton In Hales CE Primary School & Nursery
    • St Lawrence Primary, Church Stretton
    • Brockton CE School
    • Bomere Heath CofE Primary
    • The Evolution Primary School, Bicton
    • The Henslow School, Middletown