08/05/2021 - Permalink

Results of the Shropshire Council election 2021

Related topics: Democracy

The results have been declared for all seats on Shropshire Council following the local elections held on Thursday 6 May. 

The Conservative group  is the largest political group on the council. 

The turnout in the election was 38.5%.

The breakdown of councillors by party is as follows: 

  • Conservatives – 43
  • Greens  – 4
  • Labour   – 9
  • Liberal Democrats  – 14
  • Independents – 4
  • Total  – 74  

Individual results for each electoral division are at www.shropshire.gov.uk/2021electionresults   

 Andy Begley, chief executive of Shropshire Council, said:

“I am very grateful to everyone who has helped to ensure this election, conducted in very different circumstances due to the pandemic, has run smoothly. 

“I look forward to welcoming all councillors and working with them to help improve life for Shropshire’s residents and business.